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Fee Adjustment For
Certificates Of Inspection

On July 1, 2025, the fee for the annual safety inspection stickers was adjusted from $11.00 to $12.00
and the purchase price for the semi-annual stickers was adjusted from $9.00 to $10.00.

Official inspection stations may charge $2.00 plus the purchase price of the sticker in effect at the
time of replacement for windshield replacement stickers. There is no charge for emission stickers. Fee
schedule signs with the updated pricing should be posted by inspection stations.

ORDER ONLINE

If ordering online, the fee

is calculated automatically.
Online orders allow for easy
access to track the progress
of your order. To order
online use the link below or
QR code to the left.

www.inspections.penndot.pa.gov

ORDER BY MAIL

The MV-436A Inspection Sticker and Insert
Order Form has been updated to reflect the fee
adjustments. The form can be downloaded from

the PennDOT website, by using the link or QR authorized signature, operator number, and

code below. the $5 shipping/handling fee with your order.
https://www.pa.gov/ Incomplete requisitions, received without the
content/dam/copapwp- proper information or fee, risk being returned
pagov/en/penndot/ and delivery may be delayed.
documents/public/

Please allow fourteen business days for

dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv- . . . .
delivery of your inspection stickers before

forms/mv-436a.pdf

calling to check on the status of your order.
If mailing in a sticker order, please ensure the We understand that timely fulfillment of your
MV-436A is completed properly, including the order is of the utmost importance.



http://www.inspections.penndot.pa.gov
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-436a.pdf
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-436a.pdf
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-436a.pdf
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-436a.pdf
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-436a.pdf
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-436a.pdf
www.inspections.penndot.pa.gov
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-436a.pdf
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Emissions Testing For Out-of-State Vehicles

Renewing Out-of-State Registrations
Out-of-state vehicle owners may request a PA
emissions inspection to renew their vehicle’s
registration in their home state. To do this,
determine the county in which the vehicle is
primarily used and proceed with the emissions
inspection as normal.

Recording the Sticker Number

When recording the sticker number used for out-
of-state vehicles, the inspector should record the
home state abbreviation followed by eight 9s.
For example, with a New Jersey (NJ) vehicle, the
sticker number would be NJ999999909.

Vehicle Doors Required For Safety Inspection
In September 2024, amendments to Title w
75 (Vehicle Code) of the Pennsylvania —

Consolidated Statutes, specifically
Section 4107(a)(1) and (b), were enacted.
New provisions have been added under
Subsection (b.2)(1) and (2) concerning
vehicle doors.

According to the updated legislation, if

a vehicle is originally equipped by the
manufacturer with removable doors, it may
be operated on Pennsylvania roadways
without these doors or with non-original
equipment manufacturer doors. However,
to comply with section 4702 (relating to requirement for periodic inspection of vehicles)
a vehicle under this subsection shall be inspected with the manufacturer-designed and
-installed doors attached.

The inspection procedure mandates that certified inspectors must check the door operation,
including the tailgate, and REJECT IF one or more of the following apply:

1.The doors (except a tailgate on a pick-up truck) are not on the vehicle if originally fitted by
the manufacturer.

2.The doors, including the tailgate, do not open and close securely (unless the vehicle has been
manufactured or modified to the extent that there is no roof or side).
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Wrong Emissions Sticker Number

What should be done if the wrong Emissions NEW (or correct, IM0-0000002) sticker number.
sticker number was entered? You will also need to enter the month and year of
For example: the inspector entered sticker the sticker expiration.

number IM0-0000001, but it should have been

Once this information is entered and the sticker
sticker number IMO-0000002.

is recorded, the analyzer will print a “sticker

To correct this in the emissions analyzer: First go issuance report.” The inspector will need to

to — 1) Vehicle Emissions Inspections Menu. sign it and keep it for their records for their next
Then, go to — 6) Enter Replacement sticker. station audit,

You will need to enter your emissions license Please note: The information above relates to
number and access code. After you have emissions stickers only. Correcting the entry
logged in, select — 4) Issue Replacement sticker. of a wrong safety sticker number is different
Next, enter the VIN, Title and Plate, as well depending on the specific scenario.

as odometer of the vehicle that received the Reminder: If certificates of inspection are
incorrect sticker. damaged, lost or stolen, this should be

The analyzer will then prompt you for the “OLD reporte_d at once to the inspection station
sticker number.” This number is the INCORRECT supervisor and.the ijreatf. Howe_ver, it is not
sticker (SO in the example above it is IMO- necessary to discontinue inspections. Source:
0000001). You then be prompted to enter the 175.29 (e) Notice Required

OBD Non-Communication Question

We have a vehicle that is not communicating with the analyzer but is communicating with our
scan tools. Why is this happening?

The EPA established specifications for all analyzer manufacturers to follow
on how the machines communicate with vehicles. They are required to
communicate with the vehicle within a short period of time. If there is a delay
in the analyzer communicating with the vehicle, this is an indication that there
is a problem with the car’s emissions device or that there may be a cheating
device installed.

PENNSYLVANIA
ANALYZER
SYSTEM UNIT

Scanner tools on the other hand do not adhere to the same
communication standards. Scanners are designed to wait for a
longer period of time for the vehicle to communicate. Scanners
only query any active codes and do not use all the pins
necessary for emissions testing. Another reason that scan tool
may communicate with the vehicle when an analyzer does not is
because there are multiple grounds in the vehicle’s DLC connector.
Not all OBD scanners utilize the same pin for ground.

Therefore, scanner communication can NOT be used as the
standard of communication for the purposes of performing an
emissions inspection.
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Inspection Station Questions

What do | need to do to open a new
inspection station?

Applying to become a certified safety or
emissions inspection station requires the two-
step process described below.

Step 1: Submit a request to get your access
provisioned to the new online Inspection
System. The station owner will need to log in to
www.inspections.penndot.pa.gov to begin the
registration process.

¢ The first screen that will appear is a Sign In Page
with an option to Register. Select REGISTER.

The next page will ask, “What Type of User Are
You?” Select BUSINESS PARTNER.

The Business Partner Registration: Organization
Identification page will appear.

As you are not currently registered, you are
required to register the station.

As a new user, you will need to provide your
organization’s information to get started. Follow
the prompts to enter your organization’s name
(Station Name), Federal Employer Identification
Number (FEIN), and the City and Zip Code of
where your station is located.

Select the NEXT button and continue to answer
the appropriate questions in the User Profile
Information and Access Selection. Under the
Organization Role Selection, you can select
yourself or you can choose to delegate access
to another person. Your justification is to access
the Inspections Application.

Once completed, select FINISH.
Your request will officially be
submitted.

Step 2: Submit your station
details.

¢ Once your request to access the
new Inspection system is approved
by PennDOT, you will receive an
email notification approving your

participation and will be provided a temporary
password, valid for only 24 hours.

To ensure proper delivery, be sure to check your
junk folder if it doesn’t show up in your inbox.

¢ Use the login ID and temporary password for
your initial access and submit your station-
related information to PennDOT.

Note: You would need to change your temporary
password to your preferred password after your
first successful access to the system.

¢ The system will guide you through the details
that need to be submitted.

e PennDOT will review and process the submitted
application. Post-processing, you will be
contacted regarding their decision.

How can | activate a station
after suspension?

For Safety Stations - If your suspension is less
than 3 months, contact your QAQO regarding
reappointment. If your suspension is 3 months
or more, you will need to submit an application
for reappointment and a complete and thorough
investigation by the QAO will be conducted

to determine if the applicant qualifies for
reappointment. 67 Pa Code §175.52.

For Emissions Stations - If your suspension is
3 months or less, contact your QAO regarding
reappointment. If your suspension is more than
3 months, you will need to submit an application
for reappointment and a complete and
thorough investigation by the QAO
will be conducted to determine
if the applicant qualifies for
reappointment. 67 PA Code
§177.672(¢).

Note: Other applications for
reappointment are subject to
investigation at the discretion of
the Department.

PENNSYLVANIA
DEPARTMENT

— QF —

TRANSPORTATION

OFFICIAL
INSPECTION
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http://www.inspections.penndot.pa.gov
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Notification About Station Changes

Station owners and/or managers need to notify PennDOT about certain changes at the
station including:

v/ a change of ownership

v a change of the company
name (not ownership)

v/ moving station to a
different location

v a change of station type

v discontinuance of the
business

v/ a change in the post office
address of an inspection
station (not location)

v a change of the person(s)
authorized to purchase
certificates of inspection

v/ a change of the person(s)
who signed the Form MV-427 application

Your assigned Quality Assurance Officer should be notified immediately about
any of these changes. Log on to www.inspections.penndot.pa.gov to notify
PennDOT of these changes. Scan QR code to the right.

BUSINESS
HOURS:

Maintaining Regular
Business Hours

Certified inspection stations must be open during normal
business hours. An inspection station must be open for
business a minimum of 40 hours per week, Monday through
Friday between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m.



http://www.inspections.penndot.pa.gov
www.inspections.penndot.pa.gov

